DUIs can be filed in the municipal, state and sometimes the federal courts (for instance on a military base). DUIs can be misdemeanors or felonies. A DUI with great bodily injury will be charged as a felony. A DUI in which a person is killed may be charged as First Degree Manslaughter.
All DUIs filed in a municipal court can only carry up to six (6) months in jail (although very rarely is jail time given in municipal courts). In Oklahoma state courts, a misdemeanor DUI carries between 10 days and one year in the Oklahoma County Jail as well as up to a $1000 fine. Felony DUIs can carry up to ten years in prison and up to a $5000 fine.
The range of punishment for your DUI will depend on the jurisdiction, the exact crime charged, any prior criminal history and the facts surrounding your arrest. You may be charged with aggravated DUI if your BAC was above a .15 (although prosecutors are reluctant to file this charge as it limits their ability to plea cases).
A DUI arrest will also have significant drivers license ramifications. For a first time DUI, the state through the Department of Public Safety will try and suspend your license for six (6) months. A second or subsequent arrest may trigger a suspension for one (1) year. Subsequent arrests for DUI may subject you to a revocation for three (3) years. Of course, if you are under twenty-one (21) years of age or have a CDL, different rules apply.
If you have been arrested for DUI, you only have fifteen (15) days from the date of your arrest to avoid an automatic license revocation.
Being in a legal bind is not an easy place to be. It is our service to you to provide free initial consultation. We are committed to helping you where ever you are at.Contact Us